Is Dijon Mustard Gluten Free? – All Ingredients Examined

gluten free dijon mustard

Gluten sensitivity is a growing problem for many people, especially those who use grains as staple foods. Their body is unable to digest or break down the gluten protein found in wheat and certain other grains.

Now the question arises, “Is mustard gluten-free?”  It’s a serious concern as many fear that mustards like Dijon they have with hot dogs or sandwiches have gluten in them.

This article explores the gluten facts on Dijon mustard and other popular brands of mustards on sale.

Is Mustard Gluten Free

All fresh fruits, nuts, seeds, and vegetables are naturally gluten-free. Mustard seeds are naturally gluten-free, and it goes the same with mustard powder, flour, and oil. However, wheat flour or food starch is sometimes added as a bulking agent or thickener in some mustard products; such mustard products aren’t gluten-free. In short, pure mustard seeds don’t have gluten.

Even the scientific facts that are generally true can have exceptions. In mixed crop cultivation, mustards are sometimes grown along with wheat and lentils as this practice is expected to give better yield. In mixed crop farming, there is a possibility of cross-contamination and this leads to deposits of gluten occurring in mustard seeds as well.

Vinegar is a key ingredient in prepared mustard. Many of the white vinegar varieties are distilled from wheat grain, corn, or rice. When such vinegar with gluten is used in mustard or other products, a little bit of gluten will be transferred to the final product.

Many popular mustard brands sold in the U.S, have products exclusively labeled as gluten-free. If you are concerned about gluten, always opt for mustards made with guaranteed gluten-free ingredients. Most popular brands like Grey Poupon, Maille, French’s, Heinz, and Koops’ sell mustards labeled as “Gluten-Free.”  You can also choose organic brands such as Boar’s Head, Annie’s Naturals, or Organic Ville who also offer gluten-free mustard.

Is Dijon Mustard Gluten-Free

The classic Dijon mustard recipe does contain no ingredient with gluten. However, some modified versions of Dijon-style mustard may include wheat flour or food starch that may have gluten.

The ingredients in standard Dijon mustard are brown mustard seeds, white wine or white wine vinegar, and salt. None of these ingredients have gluten.

White wine is predominantly made with naturally gluten-free grapes. Also, no ingredients with gluten are used in the fermentation process of the white wine. However, some of the substances used in the fining process of the wine may include a little bit of gluten. A 2011 study published in the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry found that gluten that remains in wine falls well below 20 ppm. According to FDA guidelines, up to 20 ppm of gluten is well within the limit of gluten-free food labeling.

Always read the label on your store-bought Dijon mustard and make sure that no food thickening agents like wheat flour are used in the mustard.

Is Grey Poupon gluten-free? Yes. Dijon mustard from Grey Poupon is labeled as gluten-free, and it goes the same with other top brands like Annie’s Organic, Maille, 365 Organic, Koops’, and Sprouts Deli.

RELATED: What can I replace Dijon mustard with?

The Bottom Line

Generally, most brands sell guaranteed gluten-free Dijon mustard. Even if you are sensitive to trace gluten, you have more than enough options to choose at least one brand of mustard in groceries that are certified gluten-free. Most mustard manufacturers vigorously follow strict protocols about preventing gluten cross-contamination.

WHAT PEOPLE ARE READING



close